Canadian Laser Masters is 2010 CYA Regatta of the Year

Well folks, the Canadian Laser Masters Championships hosted by the Sturgeon Lake Sailing Club has just been announced by the Canadian Yachting Association as Canadian Regatta of the Year for 2010.  The club is going to be feted with other CYA award winners at the CYA gala event at the Carlu in Toronto on February 26th.

The official  announcement on the CYA website.

The criteria upon which we were declared the winners are as follows:

CYA City of Kingston Regatta of the Year Award

This award is in place to recognize a regatta whereupon all aspects of race management have resulted in an overall organizational success. The following criteria must be met.

a) The regatta should be an event of provincial, national or international status held between September 1, 2009 and December 31, 2010.

b) The regatta will have been a well co-ordinated and orchestrated event.

c) Key criteria for this event include: overall achievement of the event objectives, the level of community involvement, positive feedback from participants, including sailors, coaches and officials.

d) The regatta will have met CYA expectations with reference to the use of certified officials. This is an important aspect of promoting and increasing the overall regatta management skill development.

e) Applications for the award must include: notice of race, sailing instructions, any relevant forms used, names of the presiding race officer, social program, press coverage, and any other relevant information, including supplementary comments from competitors or officials.

f) In order to be eligible for this award, clubs or associations must be members in good standing with the CYA.
Previous winners:

2009 St. Margarets Sailing club – 2009 Nautel Laser World Championships
2008 Pointe Claire Yacht Club and Association Québecoise de voile adaptée – Mobility Cup
2007 CORK / Sail Kingston – Volvo ISAF Youth World Sailing Championships
2006 Wabamun Sailing Club CYA Youth National Championships
2005 CYA 16 & Under Western National Sailing Championships – Wabamun SC and Calgary YC
2004 Optimist Canadians, Royal Hamilton Yacht Club, ON
2003 Mobility Cup
2002 Volvo Youth Sailing ISAF World Championship, Lunenburg, NS

A huge congratulations to all of our volunteers for an incredible community effort!  It was a great event in the life of our club and the recognition is quite the feather in our cap.

But that is not all in this banner awards day for SLSC,  because the  Nova Scotia Yachting Association Mobile Sailing School run by SLSC alumnie Peter Nyhuus and Sam Benson took the award for the top CYA Recreation Program of 2010.   We are going to get Pete and Sam to give us a description of their great summer in Nova Scotia for posting on the website, but suffice it to say that they got rave reviews for their work on the road out east.  Congratulations boys!

Finally, a little more tangentially, you will note that the CYA Rolex Sailor of the year also has a blood relationship to Sturgeon Pointers.  Fred Eaton’s achievements in 2010 included the retention of the International C Class Catamaran Championship in Newport, Rhode Island in August, partnering with Magnus Clarke.

We have made our mark in 2010!

5 thoughts on “Canadian Laser Masters is 2010 CYA Regatta of the Year”

  1. Hugh: Congratulations!

    It’s great to hear about Sturgeon winning the City of Kingston Regatta of the Year Award. On behalf of everyone at Ontario Sailing please pass on our best to the team at Sturgeon.

    I look forward to congratulating you in person at the awards.

    Best regards


  2. Hi All,

    Considering all the Sturgeon Pointers who have won something and those that may be related to the big winner, I am expecting at least two tables from St.LSC.

    Congratulations, all well deserved.


Leave a Comment